## **Appendix 1**

## **Non-Eligibility Criteria:**

The following persons are not eligible to become a director of the credit union:

- a) An employee or voluntary assistant of the credit union or an employee of any other credit union;
- b) A member of the board oversight committee of the credit union;
- c) A director of any other credit union;
- d) An employee of a representative body of which the credit union is a member, where that employee's role could expose them to a potential conflict of interest;
- e) A public servant (within the meaning of the Financial Emergency Measures in the Public Interest Act 2009) assigned to the Department of Finance and involved in advising the Minister on credit union issues or in the examination of credit union issues;
- f) A member of the Commission of the Central Bank of Ireland;
- f) A member of the Commission of the Bank;
- g) An officer (within the meaning of section 2 of the Central Bank Act 1942) or other employee of the Bank and who is involved in the regulation of credit unions;
- h) The Financial Services Ombudsman (within the meaning of section 2 of the Central Bank Act 1942) or a bureau staff member (within the meaning of section 57BA of that Act),
- I) A member of the Irish Financial Services Appeals Tribunal or a member of its staff (including the Registrar of the Appeals Tribunal appointed under section 57J of the Central Bank Act 1942);
- j) The chief executive of the National Consumer Agency, an authorised officer of that Agency (within the meaning of section 2 of the Consumer Protection Act 2007) or any other member of its staff;
- k) The auditor of the credit union or a person employed or engaged by that auditor;
- I) A solicitor or other professional adviser who has been engaged by or on behalf of the credit union within the previous 3 years;
- m) A person who is a spouse or civil partner, parent, sibling or child of a director, board oversight committee member or employee of that credit union.